Evening Practice Sessions

Image of a full moon

Tuesday Evening Chant Padmasambhava Prayers

Tuesdays from 6:15 – 6:45 pm (with breaks between School Quarters; check Calendar for dates)

Join us for a short practice with drums on Tuesday nights, when we chant a special set of prayers evoking the presence of Padmasambhava, one of the founding fathers of Tibetan Buddhism.

Cost: Free. Donations welcome.

This practice session is in Tibetan, accompanied by drum. It pairs well with the Guide to Chanting Tibetan Prayers class! View courses. 

Image of a full moon

Wednesday Evening Meditation

Silent Sitting

Wednesdays from 6:15 – 6:45 pm (with breaks between School Quarters; check Calendar for dates)

30 minute silent meditation sessions with a brief overview of fundamentals. The session starts promptly at 6:15 PM, please arrive a few minutes early.

Please note that if the 8th of the lunar month or the full moon are on a Wednesday, there will be a special chanting practice from 6:15 – 6:45 pm instead; check the calendar to see which days this applies to. This practice is held during Quarters; it goes on break when there are no classes. 

Cost: $5, free for students enrolled in a certificate program

Image of a full moon

Full Moon Chant

Vajra Guru Mantra

Full Moon Days from 6:15 – 6:45 pm 

The full moon is a time to gather for prayer and meditation. Join Nyingma students and friends in chanting the Vajra Guru Mantra interspersed with periods of meditation. The chant is held in one of our classrooms and is led by a community member. 

2018 Full Moon Dates:

  • March 31 (Saturday) – 7 to 8:30 pm 
  • April 29 (Sunday) – 5 to 5:45 pm
  • May 29 (Tuesday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • June 28 (Thursday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • July 27 (Friday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • August 26 (Sunday) – 5 to 5:45 pm 
  • September 24 (Monday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • October 24 (Wednesday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • November 23 (Friday)  – 6:15 to 6:45 pm
  • No full moon chant in December, as we’re on holiday break from December 16th – January 5th.  See you next year! 

Please note that if a full moon day falls on a Sunday, we will hold the chant from 5 – 5:45 pm instead. 

Cost: Free

Image of a full moon

Medicine Buddha Day

Medicine Buddha Mantra & Prayers 

8th Day of the Lunar Month from 6:15 – 6:45 PM

Join us in chanting traditional Tibetan prayers and mantras that invoke healing on all levels for each and every being.

The day for this practice varies each month, please see the schedule below:

2018 Lunar 8th Dates: 

  • April 23 (Monday)
  • May 22 (Tuesday)
  • June 21 (Thursday)
  • July 20 (Friday)
  • August 18 (Saturday)
  • September 17 (Monday)
  • October 17 (Wednesday)
  • November 15 (Thursday)
  • December 15 (Saturday)

The chant starts promptly at 6:15 PM, please arrive a few minutes early.

Please note that if a lunar 8th day falls on a Sunday, we will hold the chant from 5 – 5:45 pm instead. 

Cost: Free