Free Programs & Special Events

Open to the public

Image of a full moon

Evening Meditation Sessions

Mondays through Thursdays, 6:15 – 6:45 PM

Almost free ($5 for general public, free for Nyingma Institute students currently enrolled in a course or program)

No registration is required. The session starts promptly at 6:15 PM, please arrive a few minutes early.

Image of a full moon

Free Sunday Mantra & Talks

We hold a free Vajra Guru Chant (5 – 5:45 PM) and Free Talk (6 – 7 PM) on Sundays.

Sunday Programs 

Upcoming Sunday Talks 

Image of a full moon

Full Moon Chant

7 – 8:30 PM

Free

Date varies each month, see schedule below

The full moon is a time to gather for prayer and meditation. Join Nyingma students and friends in chanting the Vajra Guru Mantra interspersed with periods of meditation. The chant is held in one of our classrooms and is led by a faculty member.

No registration is required. The chant starts promptly at 7 PM, please arrive a few minutes early.

2017 Full Moon Chant Dates:

  • November 4
  • December 3

2018 Full Moon Chant Dates:

  • Monday, January 1
  • Wednesday, January 31
  • Thursday, March 1
  • Saturday, March 31
  • Sunday, April 29
  • Tuesday, May 29
  • Thursday, June 28
  • Friday, July 27
  • Sunday, August 26
  • Monday, September 24
  • Wednesday, October 24
  • Friday, November 23
  • Saturday, December 22
Image of the Nyingma Institute front entrance

Open House

3 -5 PM, once per semester

Free

Open houses introduce Kum Nye, and meditation, and provide the opportunity to meet Institute faculty and staff. The open house program runs from 3–5 PM with light refreshments, followed by our regular Sunday chanting at 5 pm and talk at 6 PM. Come for some or all of the activities. All open house events are free.

  • Prayer wheel and meditation garden tour
  • Tibetan Relaxation (Kum Nye yoga) demonstration
  • Talk on the Nyingma Institute, its programs and activities
  • Class and program counseling
  • Reception with light refreshments

2018 Open House Dates
Held the day before the term begins.

  • Winter Sunday, January 7
  • Spring Sunday, March 25
  • Summer Sunday, June 10
  • September Sunday, September 2
  • Fall Sunday, October 7

Community Events

Image of a prepared meal

Community Gathering & Potluck Lunch

First Sunday of each month, 12:30 – 3:00 PM

Potluck lunch followed by a community practice session (usually mantra and silent sitting).

Please RSVP to the front desk at least 3 days in advance. Make sure to tell us what you’ll bring!

Inviting friends is encouraged.

*No community gathering on Dec. 3, due to memorial service.